​​​​The Tacoma


Propeller Club

 The 2017 Lelli Memorial Scholarship competition was held on April 19th.  Twenty-one of twenty-seven Pierce County public high schools were represented.  The scholarship applicants were selected by their high school scholarship committee.  Local businesses sponsored the student and student’s chaperone for the day’s activities.  These businesses included:  APM Terminals, Art Morrison Enterprise, Auto Warehousing Company, Blue Chip Properties, Erker’s Truck Repair, Giron Family, Husky Terminal, ILWU Local 22, ILWU Local 23, ILWU Local 98, Jen & Chris Brown, Jones Stevedoring, Kalmar/Cargotec Crane, Kitsap Bank, Northwest Wire Rope & Sling, Pacific Maritime Association, Pierce County Central Labor Council, PRS Group, Ron Mason, Soundview UniServ Council, Tacoma Rail, Targa Sound Terminal, TEMCO LLC, TOTE Maritime, and Washington United Terminals.  Other contributors included Aequalis Photography and Port of Tacoma.

 The day included a bus tour of the Port of Tacoma, lunch, student presentations, an afternoon tour of the sponsor’s business, and dinner at the monthly meeting of the Tacoma Propeller Club held at the Tacoma Yacht Club.

 The scholarship is awarded to the student with the highest score computed from grade point, community and school involvement, financial need, letter of recommendation, and a verbal presentation, by five judges.  This year’s topic was, “For your career after graduation, if you could choose any job at or related to the Port of Tacoma, what would it be, why, and what kind of difference do you think you could make in that position?”.

 The 2017 recipient of the $4,000.00 Lelli Memorial Scholarship award was Rebecca Kyer from Lincoln High School.  A second place award of $2,000.00 was presented to Mikayla Gingrey from Curtis High School, and third place, with an award of $1,500.00, went to Karoline Ashpole of Science and Math Institute.  $200.00 cash was awarded to the following scholarship participants:  Evan Miller-Reid of Bethel High School, Diana Carney of Clover Park High School, Emily Padgett of Eatonville High School, MacKenzie Lelli-Bates of Fife High School, Shayla Fletcher of Foss High School, Grayson Ivester of Gig Harbor High School, Claudia Penney of Harrison Preparatory School, Matti Robi of Mt. Tahoma High School, Gabriel Fallon of Oakland High School, Kimberly Castro of Orting High School, Stephanie Vanderbank of Peninsula High School, Miranda Gooler of Puyallup High School, Kyle Muna of Spanaway High School, Chealsey Olson of Stadium High School, Dana Isler of Steilacoom High School, Sammaantra Samol of Washington High School, Kailee Bruner of White River High School, and Burhan Saleh of Wilson High School.

 The total scholarship award for 2017 was $11,100, with a twenty-four (24) year total of over $169,000.00 in cash and merchandise.

 Management of the Lelli Scholarship is overseen by the “Past Presidents’ Club” of The International Propeller Club of the United States – Port of Tacoma chapter.  The committee consists of:  Susan Becklund; Jen Hustead and Jonna Johnson, Kitsap Bank; Rori Lelli-Bates, Farmhouse Clutter; Ron Mason; Candy Nigretto, Port of Tacoma; and Linda Troeh, Targa Sound Terminal.

 The Lelli Memorial Scholarship Fund is supported by contributions from the Tacoma Propeller Club, its members, local businesses, labor, memorials, private donations, and local charities and foundations.  Donations may be made to:  Tacoma Propeller Club, Lelli Memorial Scholarship Fund, P. O. Box 453, Tacoma, WA, 98401.

Make Donations To:

Lelli Memorial Scholarship Fund

P. O. Box 453

Tacoma, WA 98401


Our Purpose

  • To promote and support maritime interests and commerce in the Puget Sound Region.
  • To support existing business and related services, including the American Merchant Marine and the Port of Tacoma.
  • To foster understanding and cooperation in the public and private sectors with regard to maritime issues.
  • To support the objectives and program of The Propeller Club of the United States.
  • To maintain support of student education through scholarship funding.